6-speed auto for 2012 GC [Archive] - AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand

PDA

View Full Version : 6-speed auto for 2012 GC

kruzenvax
13-06-2011, 03:16 PM
Hi all,

Have just discovered on the Internet that - apparently - in US 2012 GC's will be getting a new 6-speed autos.

What do you think? Is it worth the wait (not sure when - and if - it will be available in Australia)?

Also been told - by the dealer - that towing capacity on the diesel model will be lesser than on V8? Any credibility to that?

Thanks

Gojeep
13-06-2011, 07:09 PM
Even the WH series have 6 speed autos. They just dont use them sequentially as use a different '2nd' on the way up through the gears than it does coming back down.

kruzenvax
13-06-2011, 07:29 PM
Gojeep, thanks for responding... I'm afraid I'm not technical enough to understand. If it is not too much trouble, may I please ask you to elaborate in lame (me) terms?

Are you saying it is already 6speed in GC2011 even when it is called 5speed on the spec sheet?

Basically I'm trying to figure out if this 6speed upgrade is important enough and comes to Australia soon enough for me to wait?

Thanks

Even the WH series have 6 speed autos. They just dont use them sequentially as use a different '2nd' on the way up through the gears than it does coming back down.

What No Jeep
13-06-2011, 08:28 PM
NO its a 5 speed. But the Hemi's have a choice of two 2nd gear ratios.

One for performance, one for economy......a bit of a gimmick as it never caught on with any other manufacturer....or vehicle for that matter.

Gojeep
14-06-2011, 06:13 PM