PDA

View Full Version : Problems with electronic stability program

Bushtracker Bandicoot
21-07-2008, 08:21 PM
Here's one disconcerting experience regarding the Jeep and its traction control system. I’ve been driving 4WDs since 1976 when I got an open off-road licence for 4WDs and the largest rigid body off-road trucks the Army had at that time, while I was in the Army Reserve. However, those days off-road vehicles and trucks were mechanically simple (if frequently unreliable) with carburettors and crash gearboxes. Almost no instruments and no computers. They didn't even have power steering.
My first 4WD excursion with the Jeep was to Fraser Island. I promptly got bogged in some relatively deep sand, but nothing that would have worried me previously in Land Cruisers or Patrols, and this is despite the Jeep’s constant 4WD and fully locking electronic diffs front, rear and centre. The Jeep got into the sand and the engine just seemed to die. Afterwards I went and read the owner’s manual (yes, it’s a boy thing). It clearly states that the Electronic Stability Program (which includes the traction control system (TCS)) has three settings: fully on, partially off, and fully off, and that in deep snow, sand, gravel or mud the Electronic Stability Program should be turned to at least the partially off setting. I had to read the book several times to figure out why (badly explained). However, with the ESP fully operational, the Jeep’s wheel sensors detect wheel slip within 1/8th of a wheel revolution. The computer responds by applying the brake to that wheel, and with its three electronic diffs, applies more power to the wheel /s that still have traction. It also reduces engine power (if necessary) to eliminate wheel spin. This sounds fine and dandy. Who can argue with putting more engine power to the wheel/s that have traction?