AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand

AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand (https://www.ausjeepoffroad.com/forum/index.php)
-   WK WK2 Grand Cherokee (https://www.ausjeepoffroad.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=284)
-   -   DPF regen (https://www.ausjeepoffroad.com/forum/showthread.php?t=161680)

junglejuice 30-07-2023 07:21 PM

DPF regen

Hi all,

I am new to the whole diesel thing having always owned petrol cars until now but we recently bought a '14 Overland and was wanting to find out more about the operation of the DPF regen, things like how do I tell when it does it?
Does it do it automaticall?
How often should it occur?

The car has only done 74000kms and the inside of the tailpipes look brand new....

TIA...

FARWEST 30-07-2023 09:25 PM

Regens are done automatically.....those on here with scan tools will be able to give you all the info your after....welcome to the forum.....ENJOY !

drover 31-07-2023 06:59 AM

Yep, it happens on its own, if you do more than drive to local shops it will all happen without any drama, its the short little trips, lots of idling that clog things up and give you grief........... depending on driving a burn can happen from 80 to 300 kms, temps in the Oven are around 600c so don't park in long grass ever, that applies for all cars with DPFs, use of the wrong oil can cause problems, at the moment a 5W40 diesel oil of CJ4/CK4/C3/E9 is the current spec to keep bearings and DPF happy, full syn or semi syn isn't an issue so long as it meets the specs and some oil sites refer to the wrong grade, the spec is the important bit.