AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand

AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand (https://www.ausjeepoffroad.com/forum/index.php)
-   Camper Trailers and Caravans (https://www.ausjeepoffroad.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=205)
-   -   Car & Caravan Weight Calculations (https://www.ausjeepoffroad.com/forum/showthread.php?t=160494)

Chrisrw 01-04-2022 06:17 AM

Car & Caravan Weight Calculations

I’m a Newbie buying first Jeep & first Caravan.
Before we ordered the car; the Caravan manufacturer did weight calculations for us; & advised the S Limited we wanted to buy, would give us about 600kg payload for the Van & 600kg for the My21 S Limited.

But a contact has just told us these numbers are not right !

Can anyone advise who we can go to (a company etc) that can do the weights & Payloads possible calculations for us.

I found Website calculators all very confusing.:hammer:

Thank you

bjm 01-04-2022 11:34 AM

Model make of van All weights are needed incl tare weight of van , etc there will be a plate in the van with these figured,plus weight of vehicle etc

Clarky 01-04-2022 04:18 PM

Start with the weight of the van + Jeep. Combined they can only weight 6099kgs

A diesel GC S limited has about 660kg payload as it sits at the dealership

subtract the following

Your weight and the weight of your partner (if any)

The caravan ball weight (the weight pushing down on the tow ball from the caravan when connected)

The Weight of any accessories and luggage you plan to fit/carry in the Jeep (accessories includes the tow bar as its not part of Jeeps calculations).

If the Jeep is still under or at its GVM (2949kg) then the van can only weigh 3150kg's maximum.

Hoppy99 01-04-2022 06:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Clarky (Post 1682299)
Start with the weight of the van + Jeep. Combined they can only weight 6099kgs

A diesel GC S limited has about 660kg payload as it sits at the dealership

subtract the following