AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand

AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand (https://www.ausjeepoffroad.com/forum/index.php)
-   JK Wrangler Australia (https://www.ausjeepoffroad.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=162)
-   -   superchips flashpaq - is it worth it, will it help (https://www.ausjeepoffroad.com/forum/showthread.php?t=93239)

max&ozzy 07-02-2010 04:45 PM

superchips flashpaq - is it worth it, will it help

Hi everyone,

I've heard a bit about these things and I'm wondering how they work and what benefits I'll get. In a previous life I did re-map my Golf GTi turbo chip and wow what an animal I got. But I have a JK petrol now so can't understand how a chip re-map can increase power.

My main question in the whole thread really is will it help improve towing the camper trailer?

Any other nice features you think it has please explain them.

cheers,

Buelljeeper 07-02-2010 05:44 PM

Mate, I'm not a mechanic, but I'll do my best.

These chips, both in the petrol and diesel, are a piggyback setup. this means they are connected between the ECU and fuel thingy (thing that responds to the puter tellin it how much fuel to let thru).
The chip, being the middle man, modifies the signal to either add or subtract fuel, as a percentage value, to either lean or richen the mix, depending on how the chip has been programmed.
At least, that's what the piggyback setup does on both my Buell and our CRD JK, so I can only assume the same for the petrol.
Incidently, the piggyback does not work on the Buell, cause it's pc reprograms itself as ya ride, so that was a bit of a waste of money..tho I did use a forum based program to retune the ECU (which is very dangerous unless you know what you're doing!).
For our CRD, it did drop the fuel consumption slightly, and definitely increased power. Our chip was, however, a DP chip...specificly for diesels. And we pull a camper..so it def works!
Dunno if that helps...

max&ozzy 07-02-2010 05:50 PM

Quote: