Smart Alternators - Page 3 - AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM - AJOR


Go Back   AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM - AJOR > JEEP GARAGE > JK Wrangler


Portal Register Forums Trading Your Jeep New Garage Mark All Read

Post New Thread  Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #17  
Old 03-01-2018
RLT  RLT is offline
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne GB
Posts: 230
What Jeep do I drive?: JK
Likes: 1
Liked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EugeJK View Post
No battery temp sensor on CDR. There is one inside the TIPM (I call it ECU). But Chrysler software is dodgy and commands the alternator (via LIN bus) to go over 15.0V on hot days (noted 15.8V on mine). That's exactly what shortens the life of D31A to ridicules max 3 years. When I unplugged it from the ECU, it went to default 14.3 that's exactly midpoint of D31A charging range 13.6 to 15.0.
Got 7+ years use out of original US manufactured Optima on my 2007 built (2009 registered) CRD (stood 2 years in Chrysler's car park before it was sold)
It doesn't get too hot over here in UK
Guess that makes the difference.
Replaced it with another of Mexico manufacture (hope it lasts as long)
  #18  
Old 03-01-2018
rubberducky's Avatar
rubberducky  rubberducky is offline
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 225
What Jeep do I drive?: TJ
Likes: 2
Liked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

Sorry to hijack here (although could be what the original poster was getting at) but for the purposes of a CTEK D250SA (or similar DC-DC Charger), does any wiring need to be done to account for a “smart alternator”? I noticed my CTEK has a couple of wires that seem to be only for cars with smart alternators. I’m gathering from this thread that the alternator itself isn’t actually very smart but there is some smart things going on behind the scenes

Should add I have a 2014 3.6 JKU
  #19  
Old 03-01-2018
EugeJK  EugeJK is offline
CrawlerStar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 443
What Jeep do I drive?: JK
Likes: 2
Liked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samft View Post
Hey Guys

2010 CRD here

I have 2 optimas linked up in a dual battery system.

Is there a way to set the alternator to the 14.3 volts default output by unplugging something?

I have relocated both batteries to the rear of the Jeep so I'm not worried about temps.

I usually see 13.9v - 14.2v on my scangauge and would like a bit more juice



EugeJK - I read your post, where is the connector that you unplugged?
It's on the alternator, 3-pin connector with 1 active wire. Mine defaulted to 14.2-14.3V once I disconnected it. But you'll get battery warning light as the ECM senses it no more.
  #20  
Old 03-01-2018
samft  samft is offline
Full Flexer
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Perth
Posts: 759
What Jeep do I drive?: JK
Likes: 158
Liked 105 Times in 69 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EugeJK View Post
It's on the alternator, 3-pin connector with 1 active wire. Mine defaulted to 14.2-14.3V once I disconnected it. But you'll get battery warning light as the ECM senses it no more.
Cheers.

Have you been running around like that ever since? or have you connected it again now?
Sponsored Posts
  #21  
Old 04-01-2018
Thol  Thol is offline
Established Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 129
What Jeep do I drive?: JK
Likes: 0
Liked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Re
Quote:
Sorry to hijack here (although could be what the original poster was getting at) but for the purposes of a CTEK D250SA (or similar DC-DC Charger), does any wiring need to be done to account for a “smart alternator”? I noticed my CTEK has a couple of wires that seem to be only for cars with smart alternators. I’m gathering from this thread that the alternator itself isn’t actually very smart but there is some smart things going on behind the scenes

Should add I have a 2014 3.6 JKU
I have a ctek250S and it needs nothing extra. I think it stops taking power when main battery drops below 12.5v. Your SA version is probably similar as it's just got the added benefit of higher output voltage for AGM. I simply use the existing rear socket wiring to run the ctek in the rear. Fuse selected for always on. Been running since 2012.
JKU 3.6L 2012
  #22  
Old 04-01-2018
EugeJK  EugeJK is offline
CrawlerStar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 443
What Jeep do I drive?: JK
Likes: 2
Liked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samft View Post
Cheers.

Have you been running around like that ever since? or have you connected it again now?
No, I didn't connect it back and not going to. On hot days I used to smell the battery gassing as it was being overcharged. That's why they lasted only 2.5-3 years max.

Now all is OK, voltage is dead steady 14.25-14.35 independent of ambient.

Chrysler ECU software in mine /MY08/ is crooked re charging voltage of ambient. I took it to the dealer, they could re-flush nothing to fix it.

Last edited by EugeJK; 05-01-2018 at 12:10 AM.
Sponsored Posts
  #23  
Old 04-01-2018
samft  samft is offline
Full Flexer
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Perth
Posts: 759
What Jeep do I drive?: JK
Likes: 158
Liked 105 Times in 69 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EugeJK View Post
Yes, I didn't connect it back and not going to. On hot days I used to smell the battery gassing as it was being overcharged. That's why they lasted only 2.5-3 years max.

Now all is OK, voltage is dead steady 14.25-14.35 independent of ambient.

Chrysler ECU software in mine /MY08/ is crooked re charging voltage of ambient. I took it to the dealer, they could re-flush nothing to fix it.


thanks mate

If it's not asking too much, do you reckon you could take a pic of the unplugged connector?
  #24  
Old 05-01-2018
samft  samft is offline
Full Flexer
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Perth
Posts: 759
What Jeep do I drive?: JK
Likes: 158
Liked 105 Times in 69 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EugeJK View Post
No, I didn't connect it back and not going to. On hot days I used to smell the battery gassing as it was being overcharged. That's why they lasted only 2.5-3 years max.

Now all is OK, voltage is dead steady 14.25-14.35 independent of ambient.

Chrysler ECU software in mine /MY08/ is crooked re charging voltage of ambient. I took it to the dealer, they could re-flush nothing to fix it.
is it this connector?
Post New Thread  Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


» Advertisements_AS2




Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:47 PM.




AJOR does not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. The messages express the views of the author of the message, not necessarily the views of AJOR or any entity associated with AJOR, nor should any advice be substituted as technical advice replacing that of a mechanic. You agree, through your use of this service, that you will not use AJOR to post any material which is knowingly false and/or defamatory, inaccurate, abusive, vulgar, hateful, harassing, obscene, profane, sexually oriented, threatening, invasive of a person's privacy, religious, political or otherwise violative of any law. You agree not to post any copyrighted material unless the copyright is owned by you or by AJOR. The owner, administrators and moderators of AJOR reserve the right to delete any message or members for any or no reason whatsoever. You remain solely responsible for the content of your messages, and you agree to indemnify and hold harmless AJOR, the administrators, moderators, and their agents with respect to any claim based upon transmission of your message(s). The use of profile signatures to intentionally mislead or misdirect any member on this forum is not acceptable and may result in your account being suspended. Any trip that is organised through the AJOR forum is participated at your own risk. If you or your vehicle is damaged it is your responsibility, not that of the person that posted the thread, message or topic initiating the trip, nor the organisers of AJOR or moderators of any specific forum. This forum and associated website is the property of AJOR.





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

AJOR © 2002 - 2018 AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM. All corporate trademarked names and logos are property of their respective owners. Ausjeepoffroad is in no way associated with DaimlerChrysler Corporation or Fiat Jeep.
www.midlifemate.com wayalife.com jkwrangler.com ausjeepforum.com jk-forum.com canadianjeepoffroad.com cryptoprofitcalculator.net
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=