Any good tracks at/near Townsville - AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand

Go Back   AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand > LOCATIONS | EVENTS | TRIPS > Wheres the best spots to drive?
Register Forums Trading Your Jeep My Garage Mark All Read

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-11-2004
I just registered

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Any good tracks at/near Townsville

I'm a newbie, so I hope this is works.

I've recently had to move to Townsville from Bris for work and was wondering is there are any other Wrangler / Jeep owners who live up here on the forum

Does anyone know of some good tracks / spots to camp and generally abuse an 04 Wrangler offroad around here

I've noticed that this is definately Toyata country up here, so here's hoping there's some other Jeeps out there.

Quote:
Old 01-11-2004
Senior Newbie

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Try the CSIRO Flats ust south of Aligator Creek, I was posted ther 3 years ago, and regularly went to there, also near there is a place called Bald Rock, can be fun.
THe last place to try is Hidden Valley behind Paluma.

Geoff
Old 01-11-2004
Rock Munki

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

cant be hidden to bloody well now can it.
Old 28-03-2005
AJOR Bronze

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi Shine,

I live in Townsville ('97 Wrangler) there are a few places you can go camping/4wdriving.

Just north there is a place calle Olera, it's a mecca for camping, not much for off road driving tho. excellent place to camp on beach and do some fishing, drinking, etc. Very popular at school holiday, long weekend times.

For 4wdriving you gotta get out west. Place called Big Bend on the burdekin river, about 1/2 hour east (i think) of Charters Towers. Excellent for camping and doing some good off road driving