how to build your own control arms - AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand

Go Back   AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand > JEEP GARAGE > Fabrication and Custom
Register Forums Trading Your Jeep My Garage Mark All Read

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 26-02-2005
Full Flexer

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default how to build your own control arms

Just thought I would make a post about control arm design as Pete K's thread about his buggy was getting a bit off track.

Disclaimer: I am not an engineer of any type. I am not a professional suspension designer. I have not built any control arms (yet).
I would recommend you get your control arms built by a professional welder as it is very important the links are sound.
Please seek professional advice and assistance before building and then driving a custom suspension on the street or offroad.

Having said that I have spent way way too much time researching suspension geometry, design and control arm components and hardware.
I have measured my links, control arm mounts, frame rails, axle tubes, diff centre, track bar, spring pads, etc. etc. and have used this information
to model the current short arm design and also my proposed 4 link.
I thought it might interest some of the ausjeep crew if there was some discussion around designing your own control arms and suspension

Anyways, here we go...

Here is a link to pirate4x4 where you can see how to make some simple non adjustable long arms:
http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...d+control+arms

Gives you a good idea on how to make a simple arm with a RE type joint at one end and a rubber bushing at the other end.
This end configuration is well proven and has been shown to provide more than enough flex for most of us.
RE superflex arms use a similar setup as well. Same with Shane's firetruck, which has currie Johnny joints at one end and nissan rubber bushings at the other.