suspension priority - AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand

Go Back   AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand > JEEP GARAGE > JK Wrangler Australia
Register Forums Trading Your Jeep My Garage Mark All Read

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-09-2016
I just registered

What Jeep do I drive?: JK
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Check out my Ride(s)
Default suspension priority

I am getting closer to that happy stage of raising my JK and could do with some advice.
When raising the vehicle by 3-3.5", would it be a priority to get the front and rear control arms, or adjustable front track bar? I know that you can get brackets to correct geometry, but I would prefer to have components attached directly where possible. The kits in my budget mean I may have to choose.
I am still learning the function of these items.
It will be a daily driver with limited off road, so I need it to handle well.
Old 02-09-2016
Lowranger Shocker

Liked 107 Times in 78 Posts

If it is a DD that sees limited off road use by do you want to lift it that high?
A lower lift will probably handle far better and cost you a whole load less.

For a lift of that height I'd assume you would definitely need a front track bar and rear track bar bracket (or replacement bar). You would probably also need replacement arms on the rear and either arms or geometry correction brackets on the front. If it is for predimonantly road work with mild off road then I'd advise the geometry correction brackets up front rather than replacement arms. They will give a better ride and you'll not be too concerned about the minor loss in ground clearance you'll have.
Old 02-09-2016
No Winching

Liked 504 Times in 291 Posts

You haven't mentioned what actually matters - tires........ the only real clearance is whats under the lowest point of the vehicle most of the time.