JK Fuel Filter Install/Change CRD Diesel - AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand

Go Back   AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand > JEEP GARAGE > JK Wrangler Australia
Register Forums Trading Your Jeep My Garage Mark All Read

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 30-11-2012
I just registered

What Jeep do I drive?: JK
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool JK Fuel Filter Install/Change CRD Diesel

I just did the fuel filter on my jk 2007. 130k CRD

I saw some tips on the internet and combined with a parts manual (2008 JK pdf) did the job.

Here is how I did it. I am not a pro!..it took me this long to find the damm thing.

Drivers side, behind the front wheel find the bash cover that protects the filter and remove the three bolts holding it in place. The bolts are on the chassis rails. You will need to loosen the bash cover that shields the the exhaust too. Loosen the center bolt and the bolt on the passenger side. The bolts will have dirt, muck and grit on their threads so clean them or be prepared for high torque un-theading. wd40 comes in handy here. The bolt has dirt on it and undoing it draws the crap down into the bolt......

Pull down the bash plate a bit and slide out the plate holding the filter. Don't pull on the fuel lines. You will find a bracket that clamps the filter. Undo the left bolt. If you can slacken the right bolt do it also (not essential).

Slide the filter out of the bracket. At the bottom of the filter there is a sensor. Unplug it. Use a screw driver to push in the lip that holds the plug together.You can pop the plug out of the bash plate to make it easier.

Unscrew the sensor from the filter and catch the .5L of fuel and gunk that comes out.

How the ******** are you supposed to regularly drain the filter when it is hidden up in the chassis like this...sjvgsjkh...engineers