And on to Arnhem Land and Nhulunbuy... - AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand

Go Back   AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand > JEEP GARAGE > JK Wrangler Australia
Register Forums Trading Your Jeep My Garage Mark All Read

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 30-07-2022
Full Flexer

What Jeep do I drive?: JK
Liked 547 Times in 265 Posts
Default And on to Arnhem Land and Nhulunbuy...

The time had come to uproot from Katherine, head south for 50km, and turn left onto the Central Arnhem Road. Heading east, Arnhem Land and Nhulunbuy were the end stop of a trip I had been dreaming of for several years.

The road was a bit of everything: dirt, corrugations, bloody corrugations, bull dust, jump ups, wash outs, mud, rock, pigs, cattle, kangaroos, caravans, trailers and bloody mad (really bloody mad) drivers who would overtake in dust at break neck speeds. Why?

First stop after about 320kms was Mainoru. Here you could get diesel and unleaded petrol (95RON) at reasonable prices (about $2.87 for the unleaded and more for diesel … sorry I did not notice the diesel price). This part of the road was quite well maintained with all the elements above but none too severe to deal with. East of Mainoru was a different story: the road deteriorated the further east you went, all manageable but bad to badder, all the same. The worse section started about 150Km from Nhulunbuy, as it had been sodden by recent rain and cut up to buggery by everyone and everything travelling on it before it dried out.

I camped overnight at a road base site. Quite nice sunset and sunrise and some cheeky crows.

My Arnhem camp site was on the coast about 30kms west of Nhulunbuy at a place called Macassan Beach (or Garanhan). The road in from the Central Arnhem Road was about 13kms of ruts, bog holes, mud, water, washaways and rock that took about an hour to traverse. No big deal.