2 Door Sports - spacious for camping? - AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand

Go Back   AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand > JEEP GARAGE > JK Wrangler Australia
Register Forums Trading Your Jeep New Garage Mark All Read

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-02-2018

What Jeep do I drive?: None
Liked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Default 2 Door Sports - spacious for camping?

G'day fellas.

I'm hoping this is the right spot to post, your forum is a treasure trove of information for a complete newbie to 4x4s and Jeeps!

I went to look at a new (2017) Wrangler Sport today but it seems really tight to fit stuff in to go camping. I'm coming from an i30 and it feels that if I chuck the seats down in the back of the little hatchback it would have more space than the JK?
I'm just wanting to know how many of you guys go camping with your 2 door and what kind of equipment do you take with you? Even with removing the back seat from the Wrangler will there be much room for my stuff? I've got a swag, esky, 20L water container, sleeping bag+pillow, 2 stove gas burner, 2kg gas bottle, frying pan + the cast iron pots.. and I'm sure some other stuff I usually take.

Anyway just wanted your opionons really!

Thanks
Old 08-02-2018
AJOR Bronze

What Jeep do I drive?: WK2
Liked 1,248 Times in 855 Posts

I used to go camping in my 2 door TJ Wrangler. I took the rear seats out to free up a lot of room so that's a good option if you aren't going to carry passengers.

The swag is going to be the bulkiest item. My suggestion would be to get yourself a set of roof racks and a Rhino flat platform to mount on them. That way you can move the swag and the gas bottle to the roof if you are buying one with a hard top. You are limited though as it's suggested that the hard top is only good for around 35kgs. I've carried a lot more than this on mine without any issues.