PDA

View Full Version : Making the ultimate tourer/weekend warrior?

98XJ_Limited
18-11-2011, 07:13 PM
Hey guys,

Been lurking around and still undecided what to do with my 98XJ Limited Cherokee. I'm wanting to make the ultimate tourer/ weekend warrior and assume money isn't an issue what would you do?

3.5 inch lift running 31's? Go to 33"s and bigger lift with changing the rear diff? I don't intend to keep it as my daily driver and want to make something unique so give me your ideas and don't hold back I'm not worried about how much work is involved or money at this point.

I have a soft spot for my XJ so want to keep it for as long as i can and make a project i can be proud of and see our country in. I'm new to most of this but slowly learning so feel free to chip in some ideas and what you have found works and doesn't work.

Thanks everyone looking forward to hearing your opinions, cheers.

two dogs
19-11-2011, 03:53 AM
i initially set my 96 up for weekend use- 1st 4wd and got the bug to mod as much as the wallet would allow,went to 4.5"RE kit, auto/detroit lockers , super 35 and 4.56 ratios with 32`s etc. Even though now i use it mainly for touring(long range tank is awesome), its great to have the capability when u need it. If i was to do it again id still go the 4.5 kit or 3.5, lock it front and rear(selectable front) go for the 4.11 gears and 32's(4.56 if going bigger tyres), get some good barwork with rear carrier and winch and set up the inside with some good drawers, compressor, fridge/freezer, gps,HF radio(or sat phone) and a good roofrack setup with awning and or rooftop tent and a long range tank for the big trips. Still not too big at 3-4" and plenty capable aswell as still able to go places in comfort. Well thats what id do anyways, actually thats what i am doing- pick up my new 98 sport on fri next week :p
Good luck with your build mate, hope it goes well.

Steve F
19-11-2011, 12:57 PM