PDA

View Full Version : Less than half a tank = push to next garage

oestreich
17-10-2012, 08:42 PM
If I wouldn't love that blimming car so much I'd just drive it into the next lake ...

It doesn't start intermittendly; of course it only fails when I'm in a hurry. At least that's what I thought. Took us quite a while to figure out:

- it only misbehaves when the diesel tank is less than half full

- once it's running it'll run sweet as ...

- the longer it's been standing around(day or 2) the more likely we'll walk

Ok it will have to do with the fuel system but honestly I don't have a clue where to start....

Sure someoneout there will reply "easy, no worries ... 10min job" -- that's exactly the person I'm looking for becaus eotherwise .. I hate to repeat myself but that lake round the corner looks just about deep enough! :mad:

Thomas

Raisins78
17-10-2012, 09:47 PM
Im no expert, but does the Diesel have an intank pump like the petrol? It may be either a pump dying (Ive seen the same thing, when full it keeps the pump cool as its fully submerged, as it empties the pump over heats and stops or stops/starts.)
Is there a small hose/tube/pick up off the bottom of the pump that may have fallen off?
meaning it may not reach the bottom half of the tank?
Id google some diesel pump info, and if it is an "in tank" one, wait till your tank is low, rip it out and have a look, or just replace it for safe measure. (petrol ones are $100 or so)
If its an inline external or mechanical diesel pump.....then maybe the tank pickup tube is cracked (sucking air and fuel) or fallen off (same issue as above)
Its the only thing I can think of that relates to a half tank or lower problem....
Either way, id say you will be delving into your fuel tank lol.
Its not that big of a job, maybe an hour or two from start to finish

mato
17-10-2012, 09:50 PM