View Full Version : How to lift?

Gianni
13-02-2013, 09:40 AM
As some of you know I'm new to off road cars, I come from the jap world.
When we lower out cars it does put extra strain on drive shafts as the average gap between box/hub decreases.

What's involved in lifting a TJ. I've done done research so far and found 2 ways. Suspension and body lifts. Or combinations.

Can someone run through pro's and con's of each or walk me through a decent setup?

As I understand it the body lift just places spacers between chassis and body lifting it higher but leaving suspension the same so no extra strain.
A suspension lift lifts the while car higher and would have similar effect to lowering. Drive shafts, steering rack ect would be under more stress being seperated more. Their fire causing more strain and ware and tear. So what do people do to improve this.

I guess someone give me a decent rundown if you can.
Cheers :)

anthonygubbin
13-02-2013, 10:42 AM
If you want a decent lift kit it would be best to talk to one or more of the vendors on here regarding your needs. I would suggest buying a kit as you will have most things in it that are required for your desired lift. Be mindful too that on your TJ you won't need all that much lift to do some decent offroading shit.
Larger tyres are often a goer but be mindful that bigger tyres will mean other issues that required large amounts of cash to sort out. Eg diff ratios, axle bracing.
In Vic, Double Black Offroad you could try. I assume they do suspension kits. I use Wooders for near on everything I need as he is one of a few who deal in XJ stuff regularly.

Regards A

Moses
13-02-2013, 10:52 AM
It does depend a lot on what sort of hight and tyres you want to run

Sent from a rooftop using the Bat signal

Gianni
13-02-2013, 10:58 AM
I don't want a lot more height. 2" seams to look good. Tires probably 1 size larger (32) but wider I think. I just think they look too low standard.

ozjeepster
13-02-2013, 11:12 AM