PDA

View Full Version : Wrangler won't start

Endadools
14-06-2013, 04:52 PM
G'day
I am new to the jeep wrangler club, i have a 2005 tj 4l standard wrangler and about 6 wks ago Check engine light came on it show code P2098 when i checked, this is the 2 bank 2 O2 sensor code. i didn't have time to replace the sensor at the time as i was going on holidays. the car was ran for two wks with the CEL on and then left idel for 3 wks while i was away. when i came bk the CEL flashes and the jeep won't start!! it will turn over but sounds like there no fuel or no spark. I've order a new sensor but is there something more serious wrong with it now??

Side note: My mate has a 1997 wrangler and my never seemed to have the same power as my mates one so there maybe ongoing issue before the sensor went.

Richo
14-06-2013, 09:51 PM
Get or borrow a scan gauge or scan tool and clear the fault codes.

Or disconnect battery for an hour or so and see if the codes have cleared
when reconnected. It should then start if nothing else is wrong.

bonza
15-06-2013, 08:49 AM
P2096 and P2098 are codes detecting a lean condition by the O2 sensors down stream of the mini cats.

they wont stop the Jeep from starting or create any driveability problems

either there is another issue, such as a crank angle sensor or the battery is on way out. use a OBDII tool and see if there are other codes present

both of these codes are generally regarded as a false codes as they usually arise for no apparent reason. Chrysler supposedly had a technical service bulletin TSB 18-026-06 regarding these that involves reflashing the PCM. from what I know the PCM settings are overly sensitive triggering the code way to easily.

you can check tightness of exhaust to manifold bolts, vacuum hoses, PCV system, brake booster, or where ever air could enter the the #2 cat as a possible cause.