PDA

View Full Version : Damage? Learning

Siggers
24-05-2010, 04:05 PM
Hi Guys,

Wanted your thoughts on damage, and how much you think it occurs whilst 4x4in, I know if you play hard you pay hard... But for the average Jo, who does the smaller stuff and small time 4x4in while taking care, can I expect things to break (assuming things are good as they are, mechanically speaking) or are there a few small things to be looked at first?

Also any one know of any 4x4 learning places, the Missus wants some lessons, she don't trust me haha

JoeJeep
24-05-2010, 04:34 PM
I'm still learning myself, I go out as often as I can in the TJ and have done bugger all damage other than a lot of pinstripes from branches and a few dinks underbody, I do drive careful though as I owe a lot of money on it.

Not sure where your located, but there should be some basic 4x4 training or clubs to learn at around you. Just have a search on the net.

TassieTJ
24-05-2010, 04:56 PM
we just worked out our ( average Jo) costs for our wrangler, which has been our D D this year,
since 1st of march 2010. it's $538.00 per week, + petrol and it's now sitting in the shed with both diff's out of it.
new tyre's, new copper radiator, new extractor's, tie rod's and then rego + lots of bits and pieces, not including beer..
but hardly touched it last year at all only did 1 crap alloy plastic radiator
but we still wouldn't change it, just had a bad run

Siggers
24-05-2010, 08:13 PM
I'm on the Gold Coast in QLD, I was looking at Jeepers for around the Coast... As they are based here. But looks like I might have to go to Brisbane for the missus' lessons. Unless anyone knows of any?

Rosie
24-05-2010, 08:21 PM
You'll probally find you go for ages without breaking anything, then you get bored with it's ability, modify it, run big tires, get used to being on strange angles and end driving like a dick and breaking stuff every weekend.

Kiwi Jeeper
24-05-2010, 08:30 PM