Needing some advice re:job - AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand

Go Back   AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand > GENERAL > Off Topic Chitchat
Register Forums Trading Your Jeep My Garage Mark All Read

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 22-05-2014
AJOR Silver

What Jeep do I drive?: XJ
Liked 38 Times in 17 Posts
Default Needing some advice re:job

Looking for some genuine advice as I'm stuck with a bit of a dilemma.

I have been working for a company as a mechanic/manager for a company for 5 years in that time I have had people work for me but for the last 10 weeks have been on my own.
The business is currently for sale and don't know whether I will have my job when the sale goes through, but have been told by the current owner that I have a job at his other business in the same role.

I haven't been looking for other work and am currently frustrated with the situation

Tonight I met up with a guy who I rang out of the paper and met up with him to discuss working for him.

The pros of where I am:
Good pay, company car and fuel, company phone, promises?

The cons:
Very long hours (11+ hour days), work every Saturday (original agreement was 2 a month), 2 hour round trip to work, no chance of annual leave being taken, being on my own

The pros of a potential new job:
Same pay, shorter hours (8-5 mon-fri only), 10 minutes from home

The cons:
No car or fuel, isn't a massive issue but means I need to buy another car
Pay my own phone bill (once again not a big issue)
The unknown?

In a similar situation what would you do? Sieze opportunity or ride the storm?
I enjoy my job but have a family to feed also.

I was going to at least help with a changeover period with the new owners at the minimum, but am unsure on which way to go. When do you stop being loyal to your employer and just look after yourself/family?