Weight Towing Calculations - AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand

Go Back   AUSJEEPOFFROAD.COM Jeep News Australia and New Zealand > MARKET PLACE > Wanted
Register Forums Trading Your Jeep My Garage Mark All Read

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-04-2022
I just registered

What Jeep do I drive?: WK2
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Check out my Ride(s)
Default Weight Towing Calculations

To Suit: JGC MY21 S Limited Diesel
I’m a Newbie buying first Jeep & first Caravan.
Before we ordered the car; the Caravan manufacturer did weight calculations for us; & advised the S Limited we wanted to buy, would give us about 600kg payload for the Van & 600kg for the My21 S Limited.

But a contact has just told us these numbers are not right !

Can anyone advise who we can go to (a company etc) that can do the weights & Payloads possible calculations for us.

I found Website calculators all very confusing.
Old 01-04-2022
AJOR Bronze

What Jeep do I drive?: WH
Liked 138 Times in 89 Posts

How much does the van weigh?
What is normal towball download of van?

GC Max towball download is 350kg I think, but remember, towball download counts towards your 600kg approx payload for the vehicle.

(Opens can of Worms).....
Old 04-04-2022
I just registered

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Check out my Ride(s)

Hi Mace 1

Thanks for your quick reply.
Apologies for my slow one.

Caravan weight is 2900kg

Ball Down Weight is 180kg

Max Ball weight is correct at 350kg for Jeep GC

Thanks chris
Old 04-04-2022
Full Flexer

What Jeep do I drive?: TJ
Liked 619 Times in 415 Posts

This is a good article, not regulation, but a fair guide -

https://www.avannsw.com.au/blog/cara...tes-explained/
Old 05-04-2022
AJOR Bronze

What Jeep do I drive?: WH
Liked 138 Times in 89 Posts

Thats a good article Fishframe. Highlights the issue of what is advisable (the 77% of GVM statement) as opposed to what is actually legal....

Now, back to the issue at hand, using P14 of this as a reference: